TS Care

- United for Africa

Maendeleo Learning Center

The Maendeleo Learning Center is located in the Mukuru kwa Reuben Slum, which is part of the Mukuru Slum in Nairobi. The entire slum is one of the largest slums in the eastern part of the city. Mrs. Beatrice Mutola Imbuga founded the school and boarding school about 18 years ago. She saw the need and reacted within her possibilities. Children in precarious situations were brought to her, orphans and those with only one parent who had no money.

Left: Roselyn Nangila (Head of UWEZO)
Right: Beatrice Mutola (Principal Maendeleo Learning Center)

The Maendeleo Learning Center is a combination of boarding school and day care center for girls and boys from the slum. It currently provides 170 places for boys and girls, aged between 4 and 16 years. The Maendeleo Learning Center is largely financed by the support of our partner organisation UWEZO Uplift Foundation.

With your help we could already

… build classroomsdonate books and a libraryprovide beds, tables, chairs for the classrooms as well as cloths and shoes for the boarding school children.So far we have been able to give the children presents and a Christmas dinner every year.

With your support, in 2020 we aim to

build a efficient and hygienic school-kitchen and pay for the cook

... renovate the dormitories and sanitary facilities of the boarding school and

... ensure the medical care of the children by hiring a permanent nurse and providing the necessary medical resources.

Further information

For further information feel free to contact us and subscribe to our Newsletter. This way you will stay up to date!

Do you want to help?

Spende auf folgendes donation account oder donate safely online here sicher und schnell online.


Our vision for the Maendeleo Learning Center

At the Maendeleo Learning Center in the Mukuru kwa Reuben slum, children can grow up in a safe environment. It enables them to receive a good education and develop resilient personalities.

Through basic education, care and support, the children are equipped and prepared to continue their lives outside the slum. They are supported on their way into the labour market. They will hear about the love of Jesus Christ and be taught on the basis of Christian values. 

Teachers and social workers are employed on a long-term basis and receive further training and appropriate remuneration. Psychotherapeutic and medical assistance is provided to children and young people by professional staff according to their needs.

en_GBEnglish
de_DEGerman en_GBEnglish

TS Care

– Gemeinsam für Afrika

Maendeleo Learning Center

Das Maendeleo Learning Center befindet sich im Mukuru kwa Reuben Slum, das Teil des Mukuru Slums in Nairobi ist. Der gesamte Mukuru Slum ist einer der größten Slums im östlichen Teil der Stadt. Frau Beatrice Mutola Imbuga hat das Schul- und Internatsheim vor rund 18 Jahren gegründet. Sie sah die Notwendigkeit und reagierte im Rahmen ihrer Möglichkeiten. Kinder in prekären Situationen wurden zu ihr gebracht, Waisenkinder und solche mit nur einem Elternteil, die kein Geld hatten.

Links: Roselyn Nangila (Leiterin UWEZO)
Rechts: Beatrice Mutola (Direktorin des Mandeleo Learning Centers)

Das Maendeleo Learning Center ist eine Mischung aus Internat und Kindertagesstätte für Jungen und Mädchen aus dem Slum. Es umfasst derzeit 170 Plätze von Jungen und Mädchen, im Alter zwischen 4 bis 16 Jahren. Das Maendeleo Learning Center finanziert sich größtenteils über die Unterstützung durch unsere Partnerorganisation UWEZO Uplift Foundation.

Mit eurer Hilfe konnten wir bereits

… Klassenräume bauenBücher und eine Bibliothek spendenBetten und Schuhe für die Internatskinder, Tische und Stühle für die Klassenzimmer bereitstellen, den Kindern bisher jedes Jahr ein Festessen zu Weihnachten ermöglichen und vieles mehr.

Mit eurer Hilfe wollen wir 2020

… eine funktionsfähige und hygienische Schul-Küche errichten und die Köchin finanzieren

… die Schlafsäle und Sanitäranlagen des Internats renovieren und

… die medizinische Versorgung der Kinder sichern, indem wir eine Krankenschwester fest anstellen und die nötigen medizinischen Mittel zur Verfügung stellen.

Weitere Infos

Für weitere Infos kontaktiere uns gerne und abonniere unseren Newsletter. So bleibst du auf jeden Fall auf dem neusten Stand!

Du willst helfen?

Spende auf folgendes Spendenkonto oder hier sicher und schnell online.


Unsere Vision für das Maendeleo Learning Center:

Im Maendeleo Learning Center im Mukuru kwa Reuben Slum können Kinder in einer sicheren Umgebung aufwachsen. Es wird ihnen ermöglicht eine gute Ausbildung zu absolvieren und widerstandsfähige Persönlichkeiten zu entwickeln.

Durch Grundbildung, Betreuung und Versorgung werden die Kinder ausgestattet und vorbereitet, um ihr Leben außerhalb des Slums fortzusetzen. Sie werden auf dem Weg zum Einstieg in den Arbeitsmarkt unterstützt. Sie werden von der Liebe Jesu Christi hören und auf der Grundlage christlicher Werte gelehrt. 

Lehrende und Sozialarbeiter sind langfristig angestellt und erhalten Fortbildungen sowie eine angebrachte Vergütung. Kindern und Jugendlichen wird entsprechend ihrer Bedürfnisse psychotherapeutische und medizinische Hilfe durch professionelle Mitarbeiter zur Verfügung gestellt.

de_DEGerman
en_GBEnglish de_DEGerman